.

The Delimited Region

The Cognac Delimited Region is located at the north of the Aquitaine basin, bordering the Atlantic Ocean. To the West, it borders the Gironde estuary and the islands of Ré and Oléron and to the Eastit neighbours the region of Angoulême and the Massif Central foothills.

The landscape is formed by plains and small hills with smooth reliefs. The Charente river crosses the region, nourished by other streams: the Né, the Antenne, the Seugne rivers...

The production area covers the Charente-Maritime and most of the Charente departments, and several districts of the Dordogne and Deux-Sèvres. It has a homogenous and mild seaside climate. Annual average temperature in the area is of about 13ºC (55 ºF), and winters are normally mild. The Delimited Region has a total area of over one million hectares (1 095 119 ha), but the actual vineyards only occupy 79 636 ha. Approximately 95% of them are used for Cognac production

Growing Areas (The Crus)

Based on the soil features described by the geologist Henri Coquand in 1860, 6 Cognac growing areas (Crus) were delimited and then ratified by decree in 1938: Champagnes (Grande and Petite Champagne), Borderies, and Bois (Fins Bois, Bons Bois, and Bois à Terroirs).

The Crus received their names when the local forests were cleared at the beginning of the 19th century. The Champagne and Borderies center growing areas are most productive.

Grande Champagne

Petite Champagne

Borderies

Fins Bois

Bons Bois

Bois Ordinaires

Blend

Blend

It is rarely born of a single eau-de-vie or a single growing area, but generally from a blend of different ages and crus, sometimes up to a hundred of them. The blending, or 'marriage' is conducted under the watchful eye of the cellar master who upholds the brand's taste. In Cognac, he or she is a great alchemist of style. Each Cognac house guards its own secrets regarding the blending and assembling of eaux-de-vie fiercely. With a great deal of expertise, combined with intuition and method, the cellar master holds the key to this secret and transmits his know-how from generation to generation. He is responsible for the purchase of eaux-de-vie, he follows their elaboration until their maturity, decides their transfer from young to old wooden casks and oversees the blending. His role is essential in reaching the consistency of each product. Most large houses have hundreds of sources whose spirits they blend to achieve a constant taste. The final blend is made by the master blender who, as in armagnac, has four groups of permitted additives at his disposal.

View all products Blend Cognac

Grande Champagne

Grande Champagne is planted with about 13 159 ha of vines used in the production of Cognac white wines. These wines produce fine, light Cognacs with a predominantly floral bouquet, requiring long ageing in casks to achieve full maturity.

View all products Grande Champagne Cognac

Petite Champagne

Petite Champagne has 15 246 devoted to Cognac production. The resulting eaux-de-vie are very similar to those of Grande Champagne, but without their finesse.

View all products Petite Champagne Cognac

Borderies

The Borderies is the smallest of the six Crus. Its soil contains clay and flint stones resulting from the decomposition of limestone. Lying North-East of Cognac, its 3 987 ha of vines produce fine, round Cognacs, smooth and scented with an aroma of violets. They reach optimum quality after a shorter ageing period than Cognacs from the Grande and Petite Champagne.

View all products Borderies Cognac

Fins Bois

Most of this area is covered by clayey, chalky soils known as «groies» very similar to those of the Champagne Crus, except for their red colour and hard stones from the Jurassic. Lying in a lower area known as the “Pays Bas” (Low Countries) north of Cognac, heavy clayey soils can also be found (60% clay). The Fins Bois surround the first three crus. Their 31 001 ha produce round, smooth Cognacs that age fairly quickly, with a bouquet that recalls the scent of freshly pressed grapes.

View all products Fins Bois Cognac

Bons Bois

In the Bons bois crus, we find sandy soils on coastal locations, in certain valleys, and most especially in all the southern part of the vineyard. These are sands that have eroded from the Massif Central. Vines are quite dispersed, mixed with other crops, surrounded by forests of pine trees and chestnuts. The Bons Bois form a vast belt, of which 9 308 ha are destined to Cognac production.

View all products Bons Bois Cognac

Bois Ordinaires

This growing area has less of 1 101 ha of vines destined to Cognac white wine production. The soil, almost exclusively sandy, lies along the coast or on the islands of Ré or Oléron, producing fast-ageing eaux-de-vie with a characteristic maritime flavour.

View all products Bois Ordinaires Cognac

Grande Champagne

Petite Champagne

Borderies

Fins Bois

Bons Bois

Bois Ordinaires

Map of Growth Areas

(click on the map to discover the associated cognacs)

© BNIC / BE POLES

0

.

La région délimitée

La Région Délimitée du Cognac est située au nord du bassin aquitain, en bordure de l'océan Atlantique. A l'ouest, elle borde l'estuaire de la Gironde et les îles de Ré et d'Oléron et à l'est, voisine de la région d'Angoulême et des contreforts du Massif Central.

Le paysage est formé de plaines et de petites collines aux reliefs lisses. La Charente traverse la région, alimentée par d'autres cours d'eau : le Né, l'Antenne, la Seugne....

L'aire de production couvre la Charente-Maritime et la plupart des départements de la Charente, ainsi que plusieurs districts de la Dordogne et des Deux-Sèvres. Son climat est homogène et doux en bord de mer. La température moyenne annuelle dans la région est d'environ 13 ºC (55 ºF) et les hivers sont normalement doux. La région délimitée a une superficie totale de plus d'un million d'hectares (1 095 119 ha), mais les vignobles actuels occupent seulement 79 636 ha. Environ 95% d'entre eux sont utilisés pour la production de Cognac.

Zones de production (Les Crus)

Sur la base des caractéristiques du sol décrites par le géologue Henri Coquand en 1860, 6 crus de Cognac ont été délimités puis ratifiés par décret en 1938 : Champagnes (Grande et Petite Champagne), Borderies, et Bois (Fins Bois, Bons Bois, et Bois à Terroirs).

Les crus ont reçu leur nom lorsque les forêts locales ont été défrichées au début du 19ème siècle. Les zones de culture du centre de Champagne et des Borderies sont les plus productives.

Grande Champagne

Petite Champagne

Borderies

Fins Bois

Bons Bois

Bois Ordinaires

Blend

Blend

Il naît rarement d'une seule eau-de-vie ou d'une seule zone de culture, mais généralement d'un assemblage d'âges et de crus différents, parfois jusqu'à une centaine d'entre eux. L'assemblage, ou "mariage", est réalisé sous l'œil attentif du maître de chai qui veille au respect du goût de la marque. A Cognac, il est un grand alchimiste du style. Chaque maison de Cognac garde avec ferveur ses propres secrets en matière d'assemblage et d'assemblage des eaux-de-vie. Avec beaucoup de savoir-faire, d'intuition et de méthode, le maître de chai détient la clé de ce secret et transmet son savoir-faire de génération en génération. Il est responsable de l'achat des eaux-de-vie, il suit leur élaboration jusqu'à leur maturité, décide de leur transfert des fûts de bois jeunes aux fûts anciens et supervise l'assemblage. Son rôle est essentiel pour atteindre la consistance de chaque produit. La plupart des grandes maisons ont des centaines de sources dont ils se mélangent pour obtenir un goût constant. Le mélange final est réalisé par le maître-assembleur qui, comme dans l'armagnac, dispose de quatre groupes d'additifs autorisés.

Voir tous les produits de Cognac en Assemblage

Grande Champagne

La Grande Champagne est plantée d'environ 13 159 ha de vignes utilisées pour l'élaboration des vins blancs de Cognac. Ces vins produisent des Cognacs fins et légers au bouquet à dominante florale, nécessitant un long vieillissement en fûts pour atteindre leur pleine maturité.

Voir tous les produits de Cognac Grande Champagne

Petite Champagne

Petite Champagne compte 15 246 personnes dédiées à la production de Cognac. Les eaux-de-vie qui en résultent sont très proches de celles de la Grande Champagne, mais sans leur finesse.

Voir tous les produits de Cognac Petite Champagne

Borderies

Le Borderies est le plus petit des six Crus. Son sol contient des argiles et des pierres à silex issues de la décomposition du calcaire. Située au nord-est de Cognac, ses 3 987 ha de vignes produisent des Cognacs fins, ronds, onctueux et parfumés avec un arôme de violette. Ils atteignent une qualité optimale après un vieillissement plus court que les Cognacs de Grande et Petite Champagne.

Voir tous les produits de Cognac Borderies

Fins Bois

La majeure partie de cette zone est recouverte de sols argilo-calcaires et argilo-calcaires appelés "groies", très proches de ceux des crus champenois, à l'exception de leur couleur rouge et des pierres dures du Jurassique. Situé dans une zone basse appelée Pays Bas au nord de Cognac, on y trouve également des sols argileux lourds (60% d'argile). Les Fins Bois entourent les trois premiers crus. Leurs 31 001 ha produisent des Cognacs ronds, lisses, qui vieillissent assez vite, avec un bouquet qui rappelle le parfum des raisins fraîchement pressés.

Voir tous les produits de Cognac Fins Bois Cognac

Bons Bois

Dans les Bons bois crus, on trouve des sols sablonneux sur des sites côtiers, dans certaines vallées, et plus particulièrement dans toute la partie sud du vignoble. Ce sont des sables qui se sont érodés du Massif Central. Les vignes sont très dispersées, mélangées à d'autres cultures, entourées de forêts de pins et de châtaigniers. Les Bons Bois forment une vaste ceinture, dont 9 308 ha sont destinés à la production de Cognac.

Voir tous les produits de Cognac Bons Bois

Bois Ordinaires

Cette zone de culture compte moins de 1 101 ha de vignes destinées à la production de vin blanc de Cognac. Le sol, presque exclusivement sablonneux, s'étend le long de la côte ou sur les îles de Ré ou d'Oléron, produisant des eaux-de-vie à vieillissement rapide au goût maritime caractéristique.

Voir tous les produits de Cognac Bois Ordinaires

Grande Champagne

Petite Champagne

Borderies

Fins Bois

Bons Bois

Bois Ordinaires

Carte des zones de croissance

(cliquez sur la carte pour découvrir les cognacs associés)

© BNIC / BE POLES

0